Heather Gunter and Tami Norman of Into the Night Reviews

Two for the price of one today!  Meet Heather Gunter and Tami Norman, the lovely ladies behind Into the Night Reviews!

Into the Night Reviews Logo


1. Tell us a little about yourselves!
Heather: I’m a wife, mother to three handsome boys (I‘m not just being biased either. We‘re talking heartthrobs when they get older, beat the girls off with a stick handsome, Lol), full time worker in a high school and an Author. I’m the Author of Love Notes and Heartstrings and have two others in the works titled Changing Tunes and Blessed Hope. I’m a blonde, sarcastic as hell and have a loud infectious laugh that others attempt to mimic but they truly suck at it. It just makes me laugh harder.
Tami: I’m happily married with a gorgeous 10 year old son, Lachlan, and two absolutely beautiful step-kids (Jake 19 and Courtney 16).  I work full time as Governance Manager for a large metropolitan council in Adelaide, South Australia.  I’m an avid reader and would choose a day curled up on the couch with a good book over attending a party with lots of people any time – people laugh when I say I don’t really like people that much… but it’s kind of true 😉

2. What inspired you/caused you to start your book blog?
Heather: I’ve been reading books all of my life. It started with Little House on the Prairie, Nancy Drew and the Anne of Green Gables series. You wouldn’t catch me without a book in hand and I was always a fast reader. I would scour antique stores looking for Nancy Drew mysteries and I was always at the library. I would get ticked because of their five books per visit policy. I flew threw them way too fast. So fast that my parents couldn’t get me there when I needed them to. I would end up re-reading a book I already owned. It always ended up being Are you There God? It’s me, Margaret by Judy Blume.
Tami: Heather gets all the credit for starting Into the Night Reviews.  I got involved when she ‘advertised’ for a guest reviewer in February of this year.  I’d been writing a few reviews at that stage and thought “I could do that” so I ‘applied’.  Fortunately she took a chance on me and not long after she added me as an admin to the Facebook Page.  Then at the beginning of May Heather asked me to partner with her on the blog – I was blown away and accepted in a heartbeat.  It’s been a whirlwind ever since and I’m learning so much – including how to host a blog tour!!

3. What is your favorite part of running one?
Heather: The people that you meet hands down. I would have never met my blog partner who’s also my dear friend, critique partner, formatter, beta reader, you name it she’s it. She’s been a true blessing. I’ve been a lot of my close friends from blogging.
Tami: Like Heather, I just love the people that you meet.  I’m in Australia so the meetings are ‘virtual’ but I still feel like I am establishing a fabulous network of friends that share my passion/love for all things book related.  I am in awe of people that take the step to write a book and love doing whatever I can to support them in that.  Without those people taking the risk to tell their stories I wouldn’t have the countless hours of escape and relaxation that I get from reading, so I’d like to think that sharing their work on the blog is a little bit of a thank you to them too.

4. What’s your favorite place and time to read? At home in bed at 2am? Out and about at a coffee shop?
Heather: At home curled up on the couch with one or two of my boys curled beside me and all of the dogs laying all around me. However, now that I’m back at work, I go to bed early with my kindle and fall asleep at around 9:30. My job will be the death of me.
Tami: Anywhere, anytime!!  Although I do tend to do most of it at home, often sitting at the table in our family room actually, now that I think about!  If I had to choose an ideal spot it would be curled up in a super comfy chair, with a cup of coffee – time of day is irrelevant, I’d read all day if I could.

5. Kindle or regular book? How did you feel about the Kindle to book transition? Did you fight it at first or dive right in?
Heather: I first fought it tooth and nail but soon realized when it was vacation time that packing ten books opposed to a device that had them all on them, made a lot more sense. Plus I read in the dark a lot and it’s a heck of a lot easier!
Tami: Kindle all the way – but the transition was initially a little bit of a challenge.  I used to really like the tactile experience of holding a book and seeing your progress with each page turn: the visible indicator of how close you were getting to the end.  I got a Kindle as a Christmas gift from my hubby a couple of years ago (he probably regrets that now!) and I’ve never looked back.  It actually re-ignited my reading passion – I have always been a big reader and had a massive collection of books, but we had a major house fire about 6 years ago and lost pretty much everything, including all my books.  I hadn’t been able to bring myself to buy more books after the fire, so my Kindle has been fantastic and I rarely read actual books these days.

6.Favorite book of all time?
Heather: I will always be a lover of Ten Tiny Breaths by K.A Tucker, I do have the title tattooed on my wrist. I also adore Tammara Webber’s Easy.
Tami: This is a really tough question to answer – there are so many books that I’ve loved and I don’t know that I’ve identified one as my all time favourite.  From the books I’ve read this year I would have to say Sweet Thing by Renee Carlino and Fading by E.K. Blair

7. Coolest author you ever got to meet/work with?
Heather: Katie Ashley has become a dear friend and a dinner buddy of mine so she’s definitely one of them. The other is Michelle Leighton who will always have a special place in my heart!
Tami: Heather Gunter!  I’ve absolutely loved helping Heather with Heartstrings particularly and have learnt so much about the indie author world and self publishing as a consequence.  She’s definitely the coolest. I haven’t actually ‘met’ any authors in person yet (… not even Heather!), but I was given the chance to proofread/review work by Phillip W. Simpson (The Rapture Trilogy which I absolutely loved!) and also Julie Ann Knudsen (the sequel to Middle of Nowhere which hasn’t been released yet) and they were just wonderful to deal with.  I’m doing a blog tour at the moment for Casey Blue (Feeling This) and she has been an absolute delight to work with as well.  Other authors I’ve contacted have all been fantastic – they’re so approachable and willing to take the time with you, which I very much appreciate.

8. Tell us about the woman (women) behind the mask? Err blog!
Heather: I’m a self professed dork, completely blonde as I said before and Tami is always on the ball and so professional but has such a funny side and gives the best advice. You could say she kinda looks after me, like a sister.
Tami: Well organization is kind of my thing, so I have systems and reminders and all sorts of things so I don’t miss stuff for the blog.  Heather cracks me up regularly – our communication is all via messaging and I’m sure people think I’m strange sometimes when I’m sitting at my iPad laughing my head off.  My husband chuckles regularly at the ‘ping’ ‘ping’ ‘ping’ when Heather and I are mid chat as we’re firing messages back and forth to each other.  On a slightly serious note, I’m fiercely loyal to my friends and will do whatever I can to support them.  I like to think of myself as pragmatic and I try and see the best in people/situations.

9. Do you prefer a bunch of quick, sweet stand-alone reads or a long drawn out series of epic proportions?
Heather: I love stand-alones BUT I also love the anticipation of a continuation.
Tami: I’m happy with both – my key requirement is that I get lost in the story.  I don’t like to have to work hard when I read – I have to do that with the things I read for my job, so my reading for leisure/pleasure is about escaping for a while and I’m happy to do that with a stand alone or series.  I’m not a huge fan of cliff hangers, particularly when there is a LONG wait until the next book in the series.

10. Last book you read and how did you rate it?
Heather: Stephanie Nelson, Embracing the Wolf-BIG 5
Tami: Jessica Ingro, Love Square – I’ve literally just finished it and haven’t settled on the number yet.  I enjoyed it, but honestly did not like Sam the female character much at all.  The fact that Jessica generated such a level of dislike for her character in me means it was a great book, I just haven’t settled the rating in my head properly yet.

11. Aside from reading, what else do you do with your time? Or, like us, do things book-related pretty much sum up your life?
Heather: I spend a lot time with my boys and I have a great group of friends but I write every chance I can. It’s completely therapeutic!
Tami: You mean there’s stuff you can do other than reading?!  Ha ha, I do like cooking and gardening, although it’s winter here at the moment so my garden has been seriously neglected – it’s just too cold for me to be outside.

12. If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would it be and why?
Heather: I’m not getting all sappy on you but hands down Australia. I have to meet my blog partner one day in person and hug her!
Tami: Like Heather, I’m not getting sappy either, but my travel destination of choice would absolutely be the US, particularly the south.  I’ve always wanted to go to New Orleans (thanks to Anne Rice and her Mayfair Witches series), but I would have to say that Georgia is now on the top of my list!!

13. If you could meet any author, who would it be?
Heather: I’ve meet so many already! I have yet to meet Tammara Webber.
Tami: (Not counting Heather, because that is a given!) Stephen King and Dean Koontz – I’ve read almost everything they’ve written.  My teenage years were spent devouring their books.  From my more recent reads, probably Jennifer L Armentrout and Fisher Amelie.

14. If you could go on a date with any fictional male character, who would it be, from what book?
Heather: Lucas from Easy
Tami: Landon from Unbreakable by Rebecca Shea – can’t wait for his book!

15. Who is a female character you could see yourself being best friends with?
Heather: Tori from Heartstrings/Love Notes 😉
Tami: I really liked Maggie from the Significance Series by Shelly Crane and Avery from Love Revolution by Michelle Mankin and Remy from Amanda Hocking’s Hollowland. Tori from Heartstrings is pretty cool too 😉

16. Is there a fiction genre you just can’t seem to stand or get into?
Heather: Science fiction does not cut for me. Period.
Tami: Heavy science fiction I can’t do, but Dystopian is OK.  Really I’ll give anything a go, if the story engages me then I’m good.

17. When we say favorite book cover, what’s the first one to come to mind – since we know there probably can’t be just one?
Heather: Totally cheating I know but Changing Tunes my next cover and totally rocks and it‘s stuck in my brain right now. Robin Harper of Wicked by Design is amazing!
Tami: Wow that’s a tough one.  I’ve seen Changing Tunes and it is gorgeous.  I really like the covers for Fisher Amelie’s Greed and Vain (from the Seven Deadly series) and am looking forward to seeing the others.

18. What was the series in childhood that got you hooked on reading?
Heather: Nancy Drew, Anne of Green Gables series and Little House on the Prairie
Tami: My memory is terrible and it’s been a while, but a couple of memorable books that spring to mind are “Are you there God, it’s me Margaret” by Judy Blume and “Charlotte’s Web” by E.B. White.  I also read a lot of Sweet Valley High and ‘Sweet Dreams’ teen romance books in my early teens (I’m giving my age away a bit here!)

19. Were you The Quiet Girl Who Was Always Reading, or did you mainly just read at home in secret?
Heather: Nope, I was the girl that walked every where with a book in hand.
Tami: I never hid the fact that I loved reading, but I had a fairly active ‘extra curricular’ schedule when I was at school.  In those days I used to read in bed every night.

20. Do you always read several books at once, or just stick to one at a time?
Heather: Nope, I’m a one book at a time kind of girl. I like to be stuck in one and immerse myself completely into it.
Tami: I’m like Heather – one book at a time is my preference.  I can do two if I have to, but I prefer to focus on one book at a time and just enjoy it, rather than having to keep details of different stories separate.

21. Favorite book to movie adaption?
Heather: City of Bones, Mortal Instruments
Tami: I have high hopes for City of Bones, I’m planning on seeing it with a girlfriend very soon.  I don’t actually go to the movies much but have enjoyed the Harry Potter movies and thought they were pretty true to the books.  The Shining was probably another one worth a mention.

Blog: http://intothenightbookreviews.blogspot.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/IntoTheNightReviews
Email: intothenightreviews@gmail.com
Twitter (Heather): https://twitter.com/HeatherGunter5
Twitter (Tami): https://twitter.com/Tami_ITNReviews

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

