Amanda Peake of Enchanted Endpapers

Today’s interview is with the amazing Amanda Peake of Enchanted Endpapers!

  1157539_613369912018245_1090535678_n

1010456_611410315547538_155770811_n

1. Tell us a little about yourself!
I love God, my family, my friends, and reading… pretty much in that order. I am me always have been. I love flip flops, pajamas, socks that keep my toes warm, sunshine, warm falls day, cool nights, pillows that stay cold, a great book, my children telling stories, my husband’s dreams and various other things. I have a great appreciation for my mother that I didn’t have as a teenager. I am an army wife, this doesn’t define me in any way yet it does explain me sometimes lol!
My current struggle in life is three types of cancer. Most of the time I’m kicking butt and takin’ names. I have my off days when all I want to do is curl up and ignore the world (except of those closest of course).

2. What inspired you/caused you to start your book blog?
I’ve gotten this before and the truth is I started this blog in response to lots of people encouraging me to do so. I had the one up at blogger for sometime. Then out of the blue an amazing friend of mine decided to design a website for me. Who would say no to that? So there is my none answer. Oh and I love reading and telling EVERYONE what I think about the books.

3. What is your favorite part of running one?
I honestly don’t know. I suppose the free range to express my thoughts.

4. What’s your favorite place and time to read? At home in bed at 2am? Out and about at a coffee shop?
My favorite place to read is anywhere. Seriously I will take books with me everywhere I go. I am a very social by nature so I’ll usually try to rope a few people into reading with me or at least talking books. Though I must say bed it’s comfy and there is nothing like falling to sleep with a good story in your head.

5. Kindle or regular book? How did you feel about the Kindle to book transition? Did you fight it at first or dive right in?
I have a Kindle that I love. That being said It’s wonderful for traveling or just getting a book quickly that I want to read. There is NOTHING in this world like the weight of a book in my hands after a stressful doctors visit or day. I still much prefer a regular book than my kindle. I still fight it. My kindle has overloaded itself on books a few times and had to be replaced. I’ve never known a book to do that with words.

6. Favorite book of all time?
I will without apology answer this honestly and that is the BIBLE. I have a feeling you want something else too so here goes. I have this quote on my twitter account that sums this answer up for me. I don’t have a favorite book I have hundreds. I’m not just saying that I get attached to a lot of characters and it becomes emotionally hard to let them go each time a series or book ends. I could tell you I fell in love with reading quite young when my mom gave me this book that spoke directly to my situation at the time it was a children’s book by Danielle Steel titled Maratha’s New School.

7. Coolest author you ever got to meet/work with?
I have a lot of author friends right now and would feel bad answering this question in fear of hurting someones feelings. I have so much respect for each one of them. I will mention two who have single handedly changed my view on the writing world. Megan Curd as she is known has taken on the role of friend to the max. She introduced me to this amazing group of Indie authors. Now I consider Megan one of my closest friends. Some days she’s more like a sister than anything else. Next would be Bella Roccaforte. This lady keeps me grounded on the worst of days and feeling loved everyday. She is one of the worlds best encouragers. If I could give the world a her I would. I’m just happy to be included in her life.

8. Tell us about the woman (women?) behind the mask? Err blog!
I thought I did that already. I’m thirty with a husband who is stationed at Fort….. and two sons who are under ten. I have three types of cancer and am a patient at the Mayo Clinic in Jacksonville, Florida. When I’m not glowing from radiation and chemo I read books and play lots of games with my boys. I love the beach though living this close when I’m not suppose to go kinda bites. It’s been a TOUGH year but… things will get better.

9. Do you prefer a bunch of quick, sweet stand-alone reads or a long drawn out series of epic proportions?
EPIC PROPORTIONS PLEASE!!!

10. Last book you read and how did you rate it?
The last book I read was Legacy by HR Moore and the rating you will have to wait till I post the blog! 😉

11. Aside from reading, what else do you do with your time? Or, like us, do things book-related pretty much sum up your life?
I’ve answered this question above but.. Family and books that’s my life.

12. If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would it be and why?
I want to go on a family vacation to one of those underwater hotels or Atlantis. I think somewhere fun we could explore and laugh together without having to worry about doctors, army, and school would be GREAT.

13. If you could meet any author, who would it be?
I’m going to go with Megan Curd and Bella Roccaforte again. I’ve never met them in person and they have added so much to my life I just want to hug them both.

14. If you could go on a date with any fictional male character, who would it be and from what book?
Are you serious? I have to pick one? Do you know that’s impossible? I’m choosing Puck from the Iron Fey Series by Julie Kagawa. I think that date would be so much fun and not a lot useless wordy romance. Well also because Puck didn’t get the girl so I’d like to go on a friend date with him to see if I could be a wing-woman. LOL

15. Who is a female character you could see yourself being best friends with?
The question should be who I couldn’t see myself being friends with lol. Idk… That’s kinda of a toss up question some of the ones that come to mind would make great friends but not best friends. SIGH… Scout Donovan from Tammy Blackwell’s Timber Wolves Trilogy is a great one. I’m going with her.

16. Is there a fiction genre you just can’t seem to stand or get into?
Erotica is a no go for me for lots of reasons. I also don’t do heavy horror stories like serial killer stuff with a lot of unless suspense. I’m not a big fan of westerns unless they are in space.

17. When we say favorite book cover, what’s the first one to come to mind—since we know there probably won’t be just one?
Steel Lily by Megan Curd. It was literally the first time I’ve ever seen a book and had to find out more about it. This was way before I knew Megan btw.

18. What was the series in childhood that got you hooked on reading?
Babysitters Club, Sweet Valley, Little House on the Prairie, and anything by Judy Blume. I mostly ended up reading my mom’s old books or the ones she could find at thrift stores. I read the younger readers section of our library to fast.

19. Were you The Quiet Girl Who Was Always Reading, or did you mainly just read at home in secret?
Wow, I was neither. I was the loud mouth with a few close friends who knew everyone and they all knew I loved to read. I’m odd I guess.

20. Do you always read several books at once, or just stick to one at a time?
I used to be a one book kind of person but now I’ve got at least seven going and I know the plot of them all too.

Blog: http://www.enchantedendpaper.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/EnchantedEndpapersReviews

a Rafflecopter giveaway

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Amanda Peake of Enchanted Endpapers

  1. GREAT interview, guys! And Puck from the Iron Fey series? Excellent choice 😉 You know there would be lots of laughing there!

  2. I’ve always loved Puck.. however Julie Kawaga brought my puck to life.

Leave a Reply

