Steel Lily review

Unknown
Steel Lily by Megan Curd
My rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I had the pleasure of getting to know Ms. Curd via Facebook before Steel Lily came out, and I’ve watched her amazing success with Steel Lily.  I only hope that I can one day have similar success.

The Cover: So intriguing, right?  A friend of mine has the same cover designer, and this lady’s work is just gorgeous.  I want to hire her some day.

The Deal: Fifteen-year-old Avery Pike is an elementalist, meaning she can create steam.  In her post-WWIII, radiation-damaged world, that means she is a hot commodity – she is one of a tiny handful of people that can power her dome (basically a refugee camp for survivors of WWIII).  Her life is pretty miserable, until she meets a man who promises her safety and freedom in another dome where she won’t have to give steam and she can learn about her abilities.  But she’ll soon find out that the grass isn’t always greener on the other side, and not everyone is telling the truth.

My Thoughts: I’ve read a lot of dsytopians in the last year. Most were okay, a few were good, but nothing stood out as much as The Hunger Games did. Until now.

Steel Lily is a very different kind of dystopian from THG, but it has the same intensity, the same high stakes, the same heart-pounding action and well-written characters as Suzanne Collins’ epic trilogy. And I can only wish for Curd the level of success that Collins has achieved. She and the book definitely deserve it.
Avery Pike is something of an unusual YA action heroine because she feels amazingly real. Her thought process and reasons for doing everything match up exactly with how I feel I would react in these situations. She’s not a “strong character”, she’s a real girl thrust into a series of impossible situations. That more than anything is what made me fall in love with this book.Speaking of LOVE, a word about Avery’s love interest: Oh. My. God. I am about to make a comparison that is the highest form of praise for me – Jaxon is everything I love so much about the immortal Jace Wayland, but without some of Jace’s hangups. I didn’t think it was possible, but… oh dear God, the sarcasm. And though his looks aren’t exactly my personal tastes, I appreciate the diversity in a YA protagonist.

Megan Curd has an amazing way with imagery. Whether it’s the descriptions of the bleak, post-WWIII radiation-destroyed world, the gorgeous interior of Chromelius Academy, the action (she doesn’t shy away from getting bloody, though thankfully not in true horror movie gore-style), or the sizzling romance, everything feels so alive. It almost makes me think of watching a movie. And there’s a HUGE twist at the end that I TOTALLY DID NOT SEE COMING!!!

I could go on and on about this book, but rather than take my word for it, go pick up a copy of Steel Lily THIS INSTANT! You absolutely will not regret it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

